Special Messages to Members
Links To Our Commercial Friends
2016 AFMA Reunion
By Phyllis Kohlenberg, AFMA VP & Reunion Coordinator

Our 2016 AFMA Biennial Reunion promises to be one of tremendous musical experiences plus of course the opportunity to visit with old friends and make new ones.

We will be gathering in the Washington, DC area to join forces with The USAF Band and its numerous performing elements as it celebrates that organization's 75th Anniversary (1941 – 2016). It will be a time filled with unique opportunities to attend concerts and enjoy all that the DC Metropolitan Area has to offer (see tentative schedule below).

For our AFMA members who are alumni of the DC Band there will be the opportunity to perform with the current organization at it's gala concluding concert on June 11th, hence the rehearsal times shown. As you look over the schedule below you'll see what a great and meaningful experience it will be for everyone attending.

Our headquarters hotel will be the Holiday Inn & Suites in centrally located Old Town Alexandria Virginia just across the Potomac River from Bolling and downtown DC. While the reunion itself is scheduled for June 9th through June 12th (again, see the schedule below), we have arranged for the special room rate to apply from June 6th through the 12th for those who might want to take advantage of the exceptional tourist and historic opportunities so unique to our Nation's Capitol.

The hotel, which will be the headquarters for both the AFMA and The USAF Band alumni, is located at 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA and the telephone for reservations is 703 / 548-6300. While the average minimum "rate" in the DC area hovers around $200.00 per night and up, our AFMA reunion rate is $145.00 per night plus the city and state tax rate of 14.5% plus a $1.00 occupancy tax. Each room offers both a microwave and a mini-refrigerator, the hotel offers a free shuttle service to and from nearby Reagan National Airport, and the King Street Metro stop is nearby. Hotel Parking is available for $20.00 per day.

You will also note that we will be having to obtain charter bus service for numerous events, and that will of course add to the cost of attending.

And remember, the DC Metro Area offers some of the finest tourist experiences in America. For example; admission to all of the Smithsonian Institution’s internationally acclaimed attractions and museums, including the Air and Space Museum, is absolutely FREE – an amazing bargain. And the DC Metro subway is a great way to get around the area at an exceedingly reasonable cost.

So make your reservations NOW and plan on having a great time at the 2016 AFMA Reunion!

15th Biennial AFMA and 75th USAF Band Reunion Holiday Inn & Suites Alexandria, 625 First Street, Alexandria, VA 22314

Download a Registration Form HERE

June 8 – 12, 2016



Wednesday June 8, 2016

10:00 am to 5:00 pm Registration open at the Holiday Inn Lobby 6:30 pm to 8:00 pm Welcome reception at the Holiday Inn with Appetizers and Cash Bar


Thursday June 9, 2016

8:30 am to 10:00 am Registration Open at the Holiday Inn
Bus will pick up at the Holiday Inn for Bolling for a Continental Breakfast,
tours of The USAF Band Building (Hangar 2)
Lunch at Bolling Club (2 blocks for the band)
Rehearsal back at The USAF Band Building (Hangar 2)
White House Tour*
Bus back to the Holiday Inn


Friday June 10, 2016

8:30 am to 1:00 pm Registration Open at the Holiday Inn
Golf Tournament at Joint Base Andrews
Another rehearsal if needed
Bus pick up for evening concert at the USAF Memorial
Airmen of Note and alumni


Saturday June 11, 2016

Bus pick up for a Wreath Laying at Arlington Cemetery with pipers
Bus pick up for rehearsal at George Mason University
Dinner will be at George Mason for everyone that will be performing
Bus pick up at the Holiday Inn for Concert at George Mason
Bus pick up at George Mason after concert back to the Holiday Inn


Sunday June 12, 2016

8:00 am to 9:00 am AFMA Board Meeting at the Holiday Inn
9:15 am to 11:00 am AFMA Business Meeting at the Holiday Inn
Noon leave for home

*Limited number of spots, so SIGN UP NOW
Requirements: You must submit date of birth, Social Security number, country of birth, city and state of current residence, and gender. For those who are under the age of 18, Social Security numbers are not required however the rest of the information is still necessary. Send the information to William.t.tortolano.mil@mail.mil


HONOR ROLL FOR JUN 6, 14,10 TO JUN 8, 16







  Michael     Rubin 18-Aug-14
  Arthur Bud E. Gilmore, Jr 11-Oct-14
  Ernie     Michelfelder 12-Oct-14
  David     Ladwig 30-Nov-14
  John   Albert Goodwin 2-Jan-15
  George   M. Hoyt 7-Nov-14
  Dave     Woodford 9-Feb-15
  James   M. Danielsen 13-Feb-15
  Carlos     Cantu, Jr. 26-Feb-15
  Winfred     McDuffie 10-Jul-14
  John     Jystad 2-Jun-14
  William Bill   Barbier 23-Oct-15
  Joyce     Maley 1-Aug-12
  Gaither Bernie   Rone 29-Mar-12

Conference and Reunion Information
(A Rocky Mountain Musical High )

  • Conference / Reunion - 2010
    Las Vegas, NV.
    Leadership: Larry Lohnes

  • Conference / Reunion - 2008
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Leadership: Michael 'Scott' Bruce

  • Conference / Reunion - 2006
    Washington, D.C.
    Leadership: Arnald Gabriel and Phyllis Kohlenberg

  • Reunion - 2005
    Singing Sargeants
    San Jose, CA
    Leadership: Ken Carter

  • Reunion - 2005
    Gettysburg, PA

  • Reunion - 2004
    St. Louis, MO
    Leadership: Ed Mohan

  • Reunion - 2003

  • Reunion - 2002
    Sacramento, CA
    Leadership: Richard Bordy and Larry Lawrence

  • Reunion - 2000
    Myrtle Beach, SC
    Leadership: John Norse

  • Reunion - 1998
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Leadership: Ken Schinstine

  • Reunion - 1996
    New Orleans, LA
    Leadership: Herb Breaden

  • Reunion - 1994
    Williamsburg, VA
    Leadership: Ed D'Alfonzo

  • Reunion - 1992
    Orlando, FL
    Leadership: Lou Kriebel

  • Reunion - 1990
    Colorado Springs, CO
    Leadership: John Lemelin

  • Reunion - 1987
    San Antonio, TX.
    Leadership: Herman Vincent
    The AFMA is incorporated as a not-for-profit organization in the state of Colorado. The complete By-Laws are registered with the Secretary of the State, and are printed at the front of each annual AFMA Directory or are available via request from the Executive Director.
    For Membership Information
    Phone: 719.632.3592 | E-Mail | Links | Site Map
    www.afmusic.org | P.O. Box 7723, Colorado Springs, CO 80933
    Hosting and Design by Acorn Internet Services, LLC